Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Mass Inspection Parking Brake Failure Question

Yesterday I brought my 01 Nissan Xterra (80K mileage)in for state inspection and it failed due to the parking brake. It failed because "the parking brake would only hold the vehicle in place up to 1,000 to 1,100 RPM and it must hold the vehicle in place for up to 1,200 to 1,300 RPM." I was like WTF I have been bringing in vehicles for inspection for 30 years and I have never heard of this nonsense. I know in this state logic doesn't apply. For an off road vehicle that is geared low like the Xterra this "requirement" can be tough to meet. Regardless The Xterra is now sporting a big red R.

Is this a real requirement or is this a shop that is blowing smoke and looking to generate some income or should I just bring the truck elsewhere?

I know that I can crank down the adjusters and make it pass but it seems like extra work for nothing as the car stops fine and doesn't nose dive or anything like that.

Bob

No, its real, the parking brake must hold the car and has been in the inspection criteria for as long as I've had a driver's license....about 38 years.

Its also a way to stop or slow the car if your normal braking system fails....but most drivers probably wouldn't think fast enough to use it under such conditions, they'd just crash.
    Last edited by Finalygotabeltfed; 07-28-2010 at 11:35 AM.

The guy is busting your nuts over 100 rpm. Sounds like he's trying to make work for himself.

Quote Originally Posted by AppleSeeds View Post
    The guy is busting your nuts over 100 rpm. Sounds like he's trying to make work for himself.
    This
    Support Comm2A

ageres proprias tuas (in case you are to damn lazy to look it up, it's Latin for MYOFB)

A 'No' uttered from the deepest conviction is better than a 'Yes' merely uttered to please, or worse, to avoid trouble. - Mohandas Gandhi

Math always wins in the end. - calsdad