Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default proper case lubing

Just getting into reloading and I've been checking some things out online about the steps to reloading for rifles.. One place i was at said to lube the case before the depriming/full length sizing step.. Then to clean the lube off so that the powder wouldn't stick to the case... Then to prime, charge and seat a round on the case.. I don't understand, I thought your case was to be lubed when doing any stage in the press.. I don't understand how the powder could stick since the outside is the only part lubed and the charge is going inside the case.. Am i right on this or am I wrong.. This guy was also not using carbine dies so the cases have to be lubed...
    Like I said I'm just getting into reload and would hate to be stuck with a stuck case. I'll Be reloading on a RCBS Rocker Chucker Supreme (single stage) with RCBS dies (not carbine dies) mostly for .223. Unsure about the primers, powder and bullet I'll be using just yet.. It'll be mostly for range shooting nothing special. Any suggests on anything would be apprieciated.

I only lube the case when I am resizing.... I tumble the brass to ensure it is clean (won't scratch my dies) and then lube/size/deprime.... Afterward, I tumble the brass again to remove any lube..... I use Imperial Sizing Wax:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct...tnumber=519525

I put some on the fingers of my left hand and lightly coat the neck/sides of the case when checking the brass (cracks, belling etc) and loading it for sizing/depriming....

1) Even if you use CARBIDE (not carbine) dies, you still have to always lube necked rifle brass.
    2) I never wipe the lube off until I am done. It's my last step, so you should feel comfortable that the powder isn't going to stick, as you point out.
    3) Don't lube the neck or tapered shoulder, as that can cause a hydraulic dent to get formed when the lube wipes from the neck into the taper.